facebook twitter youtube

Allergy-Friendly Halloween Candy

FEATURED ITEM: Allergy-Friendly Halloween Candy

Even if you or your child has allergies, you can still have fun – and even enjoy some candy – on Halloween! Of course, you’ll need to read all labels carefully because ingredients can change unexpectedly and sometimes differ even in products that seem quite similar at first glance.

Make sure people with some of the most common allergies have a chance to enjoy a treat with our review of allergy-friendly candy options:


Peanut and tree nut-free

There are a slew of options for people with nut allergies.

For something fruity, select Skittles, Swedish Fish, Twizzlers or Sour Patch Kids.

Hershey’s plain chocolate bars in personal size are nut-free, but be careful because the minis and King Size are not. Hershey’s plain Chocolate Kisses are also nut-free, but the King Size and holiday and seasonal bags are not, so avoid those.

If you’re looking for something minty, Junior Mints and York Peppermint Patties will suit you in the nut-free category.

Everything made by Tootsie, including Tootsie Pops and Tootsie Rolls, is peanut and tree-nut free. And in the cheese department, find boxes and bags of Vermont Nut Free Chocolates.



While you must always read packaging and ingredients can always change, check out celiac.com’s Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2015 for a thorough treatment of options for anyone in your family who has celiac disease or eats a gluten-free diet.

If you’re looking for something sweet and fruity, choose Starburst candies, Skittles or Mike and Ikes.

For a chocolate fix, gluten-free options include, but are not limited to: 3 Musketeers, Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars, Original & Peanut M&Ms (but not the ones with pretzels), Reese’s Pieces, Tootsie Rolls and York Peppermint Patties.

And pay attention to all ingredient lists! For example, there is gluten hidden in Twizzlers and any chocolate with crispy rice, which contains barley malt.



Non-dairy candy is often of the sweet and fruity variety. In addition to milk chocolate, be aware that milk ingredients can hide in caramels, tootsie rolls and some hard candies.

Many gummy candies – including Swedish Fish, Sour Patch Kids and Starburst fruit chews to name a few – are dairy free, but check labels to be sure. These options are great for people with multiple allergies, too, because they are also nut-free and gluten-free. SweeTarts and Dum Dum Lollipops also fit the dairy-free, gluten-free and nut-free bill.

Typical chocolate for Halloween isn’t usually free of dairy. For a dairy-free chocolate fix, look for specialty dark or semisweet chocolate. Read labels carefully because cream is added to some of these products. For trick-or-treating, Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are a great option. But be sure to choose that variety specifically, as the others contain dairy.


Happy Halloween from all of us at Roche Bros.!