This October, coinciding with Celiac Awareness Month, Roche Bros. expanded our market-leading selection of gluten free products. You'll find greatly expanded selections of best selling brands like Schar, Glutino, Annie's and Bob's Red Mill, and new offerings like Barilla Gluten-Free Pasta, Aleia's stuffing and croutons, I Heart Keenwah, Wow Cookies and more! As always, our dedicated and well-signed gluten free sections make it easy for family and friends to shop for gluten free loved ones.
If you or one of your children is gluten-free, you have to choose carefully what candy to eat on Halloween. There are plenty of options out there. But gluten can also be hiding in candy ingredients you might not expect.
For starters, many types of candy contain wheat in some form, even when it might not be obvious. For example, most well-known brands of candy corn contain wheat, including Brach’s. Also, some candy that doesn’t contain wheat as a listed ingredient is made on equipment that also processes wheat.
Another common candy ingredient category, malt, also contains gluten. Some common labels for malt include: barley malt, malt syrup, malted milk and malt flavoring. Most candies with crispies or “crunch” in them contain malt, including Nestle Crunch.
The good news for gluten-free eaters is that there are plenty of candies to safely enjoy this Halloween!
While you must always read packaging and ingredients can always change, check out celiac.com’s Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2014 for a thorough treatment of options for anyone in your family who has celiac disease or a gluten-free diet.
For your sweet, fruit-flavored fix, go straight to Starburst candies or Skittles.
For a chocolate fix, gluten-free options include, but are not limited to, the following: 3 Musketeers, Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars, Original & Peanut M&Ms (but not the ones with pretzels), Reese’s Pieces, Tootsie Rolls and York Peppermint Patties.
Happy Halloween to all!